How to Create Your Own Magazine Workshop! Start Your Own Business-July 9th-NSFW

vega-magazine-2-3One of the most frustrating things in life is not knowing how to make money. For years I struggled. Let’s be honest. It’s hard to make a living being a photographer. If you look at the median income for photographers in the United States its a dismal 29,000/ year.

The big conflict for me is that I love being a photographer. It’s what I’m best at and I don’t want to do anything else. Another truth for me is I don’t like working for others and I don’t excel at something unless I put my heart into it.

The last job I had I really struggled. I made o.k money but I also don’t like being around liars and I’m just going to say it. The last company I worked for was the worst company I have ever worked for.

So.

One morning I walked in and I was doing my work when my boss came  up to me and told me they were changing things again. I looked at him and told him “This is the 4th time you’ve lied to me this month. I denied it and I look at my co workers around me and asked them and they agreed with me. I told him I was going to walk outside for 20 minutes and decide if I still wanted to work for him.  2o minutes later I walked in, took off my work shirt, handed him my work gear and told him to “F off.” As I was out the door he yelled, “It’s your choice!” He was graced with my middle finger. When I got out side I almost threw up. I was nervous, but looking back it was one of the best decisions I’ve made.

I still feel bad for anyone who works for that disgusting company. Out of respect for my old co workers I won’t name it.

slc_photographer-.01

But!

How do you make money and do something you love when digital cameras and Wedding shooting cousins have over saturated the market? Some people say photography is going to die. These people are what I will refer to as ignorant. (Sorry but not sorry)

First-I have to say, yes! Your cousin can shoot your wedding and unless he’s a professional you will probably end up regretting it.

Second- There are details like knowing lighting and how to posing and selecting the correct lens that make a photograph something great. Sorry Iphone. You can’t do those things.

Third- Art is personal. The person behind the camera makes the photograph. The camera is just the tool. It’s the paintbrush.

But still! There is not a lot of money to go around in an over saturated market and I want money because food is great and I want a cabin in the mountains and Porsche and a Land Rover Defender and more cameras! Don’t we all?

After years of researching and learning about money and  business, which I give you some things to consider here soon, I decided to start a magazine. Yep! I shoot nudes. I shoot beautiful, respectful nudes. My nude magazine is based around this thought….

slc_photographer-2

Photo shopping women’s bodies is bad for women because they should be proud of who they are and should think looking like Barbie is normal

Photo shopping women’s bodies is bad for men because when men have an unrealistic expectation of what women should be they end up putting women down and hurting their own happiness because, let’s just say it, they were stupid.

I don’t know that I can change society and it’s views on women and their bodies but if I can show a few men that women should be loved for who they are and not what you think they should be then I’ll be happy.

Anyhow, back to the reason for this post!

I started a magazine for three reasons: I like money, I want to do something good for others AND It’s an emerging market with big potential.

If you’ve ever studied business you know:

  1.  To be successful you have to set up a systems, processes, ways of doing things.
  2.  A business is only a business if you it can run itself without you there. If you have a business and it depends on you, you have a job. This is known as an exit strategy.
  3. To make a lot of money you have be able to the use the law of duplication.

Most people go to work and work really hard and for their entire life they will live pay check to pay check. I don’t even want to think about what will happen when they get ready to retire.

There is nothing wrong with working hard, everyday. I work hard everyday. The difference is I work hard at creating a business with unlimited growth.

If I was a massage therapist I could go out and make.. a few hundred dollars a day but there is only 24 hour and I could only do a few massages before the day is over and I am tired.

With my magazine, I can create one or two magazine a month and at first I will make 100 to 500 a month. After a few more months, as I work and grow and market it, that number changes.

My personal goal is 10,000 a month by this time next year from magazine sales. That means I will sell 2,000 magazines a month. When I grow my social media community  to 200,000 I’ll be there!

slc_photographer-71I’ve only had my magazine out for 4 months now and I”m doing ok. Every month it grows a little! That’s what anyone should expect!

Oh! When I started it I have 50 dollars in my bank account!

BUT! Here is the thing. I don’t like seeing all of the people I care about working at jobs that they aren’t passionate about. I hate seeing people I know struggling.

What I’ve decided to do is teach a workshop on how you can start your own magazine and here a few of the reasons why!

  1. Online magazine sales increase by 10 percent every year.
  2. 40 percent of Americans download a digital magazine every month.
  3. Most major print magazines are converting to digital format.
  4. Start up costs are almost “0”.
  5. No printing required.
  6. You can start a magazine on almost any subject you like. There is a very successful online magazine about How to raise chickens. The dude is now a millionaire.

This isn’t some get rich quick scheme. It’s going to take a lot of work. I spend hour and hours working and learning and promoting and solving problems. Spend lots of hours taking to models and finding the right photographers but guess what? It’s fun and I don’t have to go to work and work for a boss that lies to me and company that rips me off.

Better yet! In a few years I will be one of the few in the world who can call themselves financially independent.

And!

I will teach you how to get started!

This is a workshop on how to start and grow your own Magazine.

We will go over a simple business plan, creation of your magazine, how and where to sell it, and how to promote and market it.

Date of workshop: July 9th

Time: 10am -4pm

Enrollment: $165

Only  8 attendees allowed.

I will teach it in my home office. I will give you my address when you register.

To register just message me through Instagram, or email, or text me.

Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com

Ph: 801-598-3423

Please understand that because of the limited spots, I will only accept the first 8 who enroll.

AND

 I cannot hold spots because it’s unfair to others. 

Thank you for taking the time to read. I aappreciate it! Visit my IG to see more of my work. I also sell art on Artfinder.

slc_photographer-28Ikon Republik-

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.  Visit my IG to see more of my work. I also sell art on Artfinder.

Feel free to message me through email or text.

Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com or 801-598-3423

Ikon Republik- I am a photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah.

I am the founder of VEGA Magazine. Check it out! You should buy a copy, if you over 18.

I like to write. I like to play guitar and I love my kids more than anything in the world!

I offer photo sessions and I also teach personal photography lessons.  If you’re interest in a photo session message me for a price list.

Have a great day!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

