What I Learned From Wrecking My Bike.. And My Life.

DSCF1772rrWhen I was a child I had this big mountain bike. I loved that damn bike and I rode it to school most days. I lived in West Jordan back then and I attended Joel P Jensen Middle School. One day, while riding home I decided to take the long way and I rode off to some dirt trails. The dirt trails are long gone. Now in their place is Jordan Landing. The thing about this particular day was I didn’t make it to the dirt trails.

I wasn’t paying attention and a friend called my name and I turned to see who it was and I hit a parked car. I cut myself pretty good. I had a deep gash on my knee and my shoulder was bleeding. I got back on my bike, my body and my pride hurt, and I rode home to my mother who patched me up and gave me a hug.
Stories like these are common for most children. We get a cut. We make sure we take care of it.

My question to you is about getting hurt. We as humans are great at take care of our physical pain but when it comes to emotional pain we like to torture ourselves.

Why?

Why do we like make our lives more painful. Why do we assume so much. Why do we hate so much. Why do we get so angry? All it does is weaken our souls. We make this world worse.

slc_photographer-8I wonder why I used to do this. I use to torture myself over the past. I used to let all the people who hurt me keep hurting me. It was like  getting in a fight and losing and going back to get my ass kicked over and over.

“The first thing you do if you want to make the world a better place is make you better. I think it’s a noble cause to make the world a better place.”
The problem is that when you torture yourself over your past you kill your future.
It’s not easy to do this. It’s like killing cancer in your body that’s been there for all your life.
I started doing a few things that really helped

I meditate daily.
I began to forgive me and others.
I took responsibility for my entire life.
I learn to let things go.
I found compassion.
I work on being grateful for everything. Even when things go wrong.

slc_photographer-2

Why am I sharing this?  Because it’s helped me in my life and I know there are a lot of good people out there who do the things I used to do.

The truth is it’s unhealthy. You gotta find ways to heal.

Holding on to your terrible past creates your terrible future.

Letting go and healing opens your world to an unknown future.

Good luck my friends and find your happiness. It’s out there!

I hope you’re having an amazing day! I am! Thank you for visiting and reading.

I have a Basic Digital Photography Class that begins soon also! Check it out! 

And…Film Photography Class

Every Sunday I have a free photo walk.

Next Sunday: April 9th at 10am

Location: City Creek Center. We will meet by the water fountain.

Don’t forget to bring your camera and any other equipment you might need. I also stop and get Coffee at Starbucks so you’re welcome to join!

 

….And don’t forget to enroll in the Marketing workshop! If you want to grow your online business this workshop is perfect for you!

 Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.  Visit my IG to see more of my work. I also sell art on Artfinder.

slc_photographer-16Ikon Republik- I am a photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah. This is a photo of me taken by my friend Whisper McGibbons.

I am the founder of VEGA Magazine. Check it out! You should buy a copy, if you over 18.

I like to write. I like to play guitar. I offer photo sessions and I also teach personal photography lessons.  

If you would like to hire me please message me.  Please remember I am a pro and I don’t work for free. I’m sure you don’t go to work just for fun either.

 Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com just in case you missed it before. 

Please give me about 1 day to respond.🙂(I currently check my email once a day!)

Leave a Reply

