A Few Quick Photo Tips For Beginners.(NSFW)

IMG_3542Sometimes I think back to when I started taking photos and it’s hard to think back that far. I’m not young anymore and time finds ways of changing memories.

A few weeks ago I was talking to my mother, (yes… I love her and we still talk and she’s one of my best friends.) and she pulled out an old folder. In it was the first photo that I had ever taken. It was taken at Hogel Zoo. I was about 2 years old. It was a blurry mess of green leaves. If I compare my work to that! Wow. I’ve really grown as a photographer.

IMG_1339What I want to tell you is that being a photographer is like anything else in life. If you take time and grow and work at becoming better you will. I photographed my first wedding over 28 years ago. I shot for studio in Southern California for a year and worked for a master photographer who was inducted into the hall of fame(for photographers) and I for most of my life I struggled as an artist. My biggest problems were internal. I wasn’t really being who I should have been.

So be patient with yourself. It takes time to become great at something.

Another important tip for photographers is to be honest with who you are. Be honest with who you are and what you want. As long as you’re not breaking laws or intentionally hurting others go for what you want. Tell other people and don’t hide who you are. Possibly the most important thing to be is vulnerable. Without the idea that someone can destroy you and your work you will never be a true artist.

IMG_3555For years I shot family portraits. I shot seniors. I shot weddings. I shot everything that everyone else told me to photography and guess what I failed successfully.

Another tip is to shoot the things you love. Photographing anything else is a waste of time and your life. 

Shot what makes your heart beat faster. If you love weddings you should be a wedding photographer. Guess what I like? Hmmm. 🙂

(I also like cars, motorcycles, houses, the outdoors and people in general.)

IMG_3540

If you are a beginner photographer or you know someone who is click here to check out my 4 week Basic photography class. It’s a fun call full of learning!

And don’t forget to enroll in the Marketing workshop. It’ll change your life. click here for more info.

Also.. I need models for VEGA magazine so if you or someone you know is interested, over 19 and Ok with having nudes taken message me. I’ll ask to see an ID and a portfolio and then we can discuss how it pays.

slc_photographer-3

Ikon Republik- I am a photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah.

I am the founder of VEGA Magazine. I like

to write. I like to play guitar. Most of the time my life is pretty awesome. I offer photo sessions and I teach personal photography lessons. Please message me for a price list.

Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com.

Please give me at least 1 days to respond.🙂

Leave a Reply

