What Skill Are You Missing that Keeps You From Achieving Your Dreams And Are you Fighting Nature?

slc_photographer-35After waking up this morning, I took an hour to listen to one of my mentors talk.

Two things really caught my attention.

One, he has said over and over.

The first: You are probably only a few skills away from everything you want.

He’s said this for years. I agree with it.

Yesterday I spent the entire day learning how to build large email lists. As of this morning ,I have a list with over 1,000 targeted emails. Lists like these are pricey. They cost anywhere from 10 cents to 15 cents per name. Not only did I save some money but I learned a new skill that will help me in my business, and if I choose I can offer this service to others. (Hey, Do you need an email list? I’ll build one for you one for 10 cents per email.)

The second thing he talkslc_photographer-26ed about was  physics, biology and genes and how we fight a losing battle against them.  

We as humans have built in thoughts/responses/needs. We have these because for millions of years our ancestors lived a certain way.

For example, our ancestors slept when it was dark and woke up when it was light, usually in a room with others.

Need a business headshot? Or maybe you’re an actor or model? They are 50 dollars this month only! Message me today!

They didn’t eat much sugar or fat because of availability  but when it was, they gorged on it.

slc_photographer-14

They  lived in small communities and usually they stayed in the same vicinity for most of their lives.

Their relationships were long and with the same group.

They usually married a childhood friend.

Genetic Biology tells us that human DNA Changes at a rate of about 1% every million years. That means that our DNA is almost exactly the same as our ancestors a million years ago.

The thought that he pointed out today is that our environment has changed be we haven’t. Quick advances in technology have moved us forward faster than we can adapt.

We now have what science calls an environmental mismatch.
Environment mismatches cause problems.

Too much light, for example is an environmental mismatch.

Years ago, when the sun went down we had fire, or candles for light, which were soft and easy for our brain to accept

Usually we would sleep in a dwelling with others so we were used to hearing the crackle of a fire, an animal in the distance and maybe the girl sleeping next to us was snoring. (do you like how I made that about a girl? Haha!)

This is how we learned to sleep. Today we have lights all around us, the noise of traffic outside and our phone in bed with us. No wonder we don’t sleep well.

slc_photographer-21

Less sleep means more cortisol pumping through our veins which leads to stress, illness, disease and overall unhappiness with life. Not good!

In the past we lived in small villages or tribes and when it came to survival, having a tribe, or friends was mucho importante.

If you lost your tribe, or they kicked you out, the result was loneliness, struggle and most likely death.

Today we move across country. We don’t have the same friends we had as children and we’ve have been told to value independence  over everything else and the that we don’t need others to succeed.

That statement about couldn’t be more wrong! We need others. It’s built into our natural systems.
I recently read a book on relationships.

I’m single and trying to figure my life out and a become better person I feel that learning and understanding is important.

The author, who is a psychologist found that attachment and relationships are one the mostslc_photographer-13 important things we have that create happiness.

Knowing you can depend on others give you strength to go out and try new things and explore. Feeling safe is an important part of growth and without feeling loved we never reach our full potential.

It’s called “Attachment Theory”.
I am a natural rule breaker. I  question everything, but lately  I have learned not to question the laws of physics.

Do not fight against nature. It always wins. Bow your knee in respect. If you don’t you make your life harder.

This lead me to think about my life and what I need to change.

I’m not a guy who likes to go out and meet people. However, when I do I always enjoy myself.
For this reason I’slc_photographer-16m starting a weekly photo meetup.

It will happen every Sunday at 10am.

I met with a friend last week and we had a good time. These photos in this post are from my meetup with Chad.

Next week we will meet at City Creek Center at 10am. Anyone who wants to come is invited. Sorry about making it Sunday. I know this is Utah but that’s the only day that works for me.
I’ll announce a new location every week so to keep informed just check this blog.

Photo walk Meet up: March 12th at 10am

Location: City Creek Center at the Sky bridge

Bring your camera!

I have two workshops that you can join right now! The Intimate Portrait Workshop or The Basic Workshop for beginners.

Now is a great time to message me about enrolling in one of the workshops that I’m teaching. Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com

In the Middle of April they will cost more!

Hey! Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.  Visit my IG to see more of my work. I also sell art on Artfinder.

slc_photographer-28

Ikon Republik- I am a photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah.

I am the founder of VEGA Magazine. I like to write. I like to play guitar. Most of the time my life is pretty awesome. I offer photo sessions and I teach personal photography lessons.  

 

Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com just in case you missed it before. 

Please give me about 1 day to respond.🙂(I currently check my email once a day!)

Leave a Reply

