The One Word That You’re Not Saying Enough, and That’s Why You’re Failing

16298211029_34025d7c22_oThere is one word that we seem to forget as we get older. When we’re kids, we like the word, but for both good and bad reasons, we are taught that it’s not ok to say it.

When I was younger, if I said this word, I would usually get spanked, sent to my room, or punished in some way.

I understand why, as adults, we have a hard time saying it. The messed up thing is that we need to say it more often. I’m not talking about cuss words like fuck or shit, but don’t worry, I got in trouble for saying those too. I try to limit their use even now because I do my best to be a gentleman.
The word I’m talking about is no.
I’ll bet you remember saying no to your mother when she made that mac and cheese casserole with Ramen noodles, canned tomatoes, frozen mixed veggies, and hamburger fried in a pan. (Damn! I don’t know what that was called, but I still have nightmares about it!)

The thing is no is a good word. It keeps you safe. It sets a boundary. It tells others, “Hey, that’s not ok with me. You can’t treat me like that. I respect myself!”
As a photographer and a business owner…. and those are two different things, it’s a word I have to use.

Here is what happens when I don’t use it, photography business speaking..
tumblr_ohl1v5aa9h1urmckio5_5401. All I get is free photo sessions.
2. No respect.
3. No money.
4. No car
5. No bills paid
6. I hate myself
7. I want to die
8. WTF Is wrong with people
9. Hmm. I think the human race would be better off if we were all dead. Bears.. That’s a good way to go. Let’s all get eaten by bears.
10. Mom! Dad! Get over here and hide the guns! I’m trying to self preserve.

Ok. I might have gone a little too far with that list, but really, no is a good word24140554429_66bc73e534_o.

It’s a powerful word, and if it’s not in your vocabulary, I can almost promise you your life is shittier for it.

No is a word of defiance and rejection. It’s also a word of safety, success, and honesty. It’s a word that can save your life and business.

Things you should start saying “No” to.
1. People that ask for free shoots. (I’ll have a post on when to vs. when not to shoot for free soon.)
2. People that ask for all of your time.
3. People that don’t have respect for you…I should mention that if they don’t have respect for you, it’s your fault. Saying no to them is a start to getting it back.
4. People that give you crack.
5. You Ex when she shows up at 12 midnight asking for a booty call. (Come on.. Really? move on!)
I’m sure you can think of a lot of other times that you need to say no.

Part of running a successful business is creating good habits that lead to success and saying no is one of the most important! Don’t forget it, and start practicing it today.

When that cop pulls you over for speeding in the school zone and asks you for your ID, just say no. 😉

Please note that a lot of sarcasm and bad humor was purposely used while writing this post and if a cop does pull you over…… well, use commons sense.. for reals!

Thank you for taking the time to read. I appreciate it! Visit my IG to see more of my work. I also sell art on Artfinder.

22728259947_5ec2ba8b6d_oIkon Republik- I am a photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah. I take all the photos I post. The one on the left was me and a friend out shooting. Pretty sure she was breaking the law but I wasn’t so that her problem. She’s a trespasser! 😉

I am the founder of VEGA Magazine. I like to write. I like to play guitar. Most of the time my life is pretty awesome. I would say 86 percent awesomeness and the rest like everything else. I offer photo sessions and I teach personal photography lessons. Please message me for a price list. I have two workshops that you can join right now! The Intimate Portrait Workshop or The Basic Workshop for beginners.

Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com. Please give me about 3 days to respond.🙂(I’m currently  not working on getting better at checking email but sometimes it might be the same day!)

Leave a Reply

