A Day In The Life Of A Photographer-2 NSFW

slc_photographer-4Okay, this is more like a weekend in my life!  🙂

God, it was fun and busy!

I taught an Intimate Portrait Workshop on Saturday, and I have to say, I had a blast. I got a message from every student who attended within 24 hours saying they loved it and learned. That was one of the most gratifying feelings in the world. I don’t expect or count on them, but getting that reassurance that what you offer is worth it to others is something I love.
I came home after the Workshop on Saturday and crashed. ZZZZZZZ…..

slc_photographer-59Sunday, I met Harper at my place. We had planned a photo session for our magazine, but really I was setting up a little trick.
I’ve been trying to get a model to shoot out near the Salt Lake. The thing is, if it’s cold and rainy, most models don’t want to go outside and shoot.

I happen to know that dramatic bad weather makes for wonderful photos. I also know Harper really well, and because we trust each other, I set the trick up.
We shot in my place for a few, and then I said, “ Hey, we’re going out to shoot by the lake.”
She complained a little, and said, “ It will be cold, my hair will get wet, and I’ll get muddy.”
We still went.

The shots were amazing. I’m adding one to my Artfinder site soon so, if you want a copy, that’s where you would find it. slc_photographer-52

We were there for around 15 minutes, and then, we came back home so she could take off. I called my friend Morgan, who had set up a private lesson, and before heading over to his place, I made sure my family duties were squared away.
I love teaching. I love shooting. I love what I do.

The lesson went great. He had two models ready. They had just had hair and make up done. I taught. We shot. Then, we took a break, and an hour later, we met up out by the lake to shoot those models.

That was my weekend.  It was busy. I’m tired.

Something I have learned about myself is that I overdo things. I overdo work. It is why life gets out of balance. I don’t leave time for other important things. In the past, this has caused slc_photographer-52-copyproblems with relationships, health, my overall outlook on life, and my happiness.
I can feel it when it happened. It starts with me be not sleeping well. Then, I don’t make good decisions.

Today, I’m taking a step back and resting. I’ll work on my schedule. I’ll post a few photos. I might even ask a girl out on a date..Maybe….. and then, I will rest.

You might be like me. You might have problems with balance. If you do, here a few things I do daily to keep myself healthy.
1. I meditate daily  slc_photographer(10 minutes in the morning and 10 to 20 minute before bed).
2. I drink a lot of water. Especially first thing in the morning,  a full glass of water is important.
3. I exercise.
4. I pay attention to how I feel.
5. I take time off
6. I say no a lot.

 

Those are a few things I do because for me because personal wellness is more important than anything else.

slc_photographer-64Lastly, I want to say thank you to a few people. First, thank you Natalie for supplying the house, and thank you for being a good friend. Thank you to my models. All of you are wonderful and a pleasure to work with. Thank you Phil Lock. I’m glad we met, and I’m glad we’re friends. Thank you Morgan, thank you Regina, and thank you Brian Tagge! Thank you Lacie! All of you are great. I’m sure I forgot a few, but don’t worry, you’ll hear it later!

And thank you for taking the time to read. I appreciate it! Visit my IG to see more of my work. I also did you hear? I sell art on Artfinder.

If you enjoyed it please share it with everyone you love and like, but not with anyone you hate. Knowledge is power, and everyone needs more knowledge!

P.S. I hope you don’t hate anyone. That shit is poison!

slc_photographer-3Ikon Republik- I am a photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah. I’m the kid in the green. The guy in the blue is my Great Grandfather and the other dude is my nerd brother. I love my family!I am the founder of VEGA Magazine.  I like to write. I teach workshops. I’m teaching a Basic Photography Workshop soon. I’ll add more workshop over the next two weeks so watch for them. Check it out! If you wanna shoot please message me for a price list. Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com. Please give me about 3 days to respond.🙂(Hey! I’m currently not working on getting better at checking email and I’m not even sorry about it.)

Thank you For visiting!

Leave a Reply

