The Reason Why Your Not Making Money with Your Photography

slc_photographer-28I usually like to write fiction for this blog because that’s where my interest lies, but right now, I have so many friends failing at their businesses. I feel I should share a little information on how to make money with your photography because it’s not rocket science. If you do a few things religiously, in a few months, you will make money if you’re a decent photographer. I’m not going to sugar coat it. If you take bad photos, nothing is going to help you until you improve.

slc_photographer-38Marketing photography is really simple. If you are a service photographer, the most important word in your marketing vocabulary should be reach.

First, you should know all photographers who shoot for money fall into two categories.
1. Service photographers: Photographers who shoot weddings, portraits, families. If someone hires you to take photos, you are a service photographer.
2. Stock photographers: Photographers who shoot with a market already in mind and sell to the market. If you shoot for magazines, postcards, books, or print, you are shooting stock.

If you are a service photographer, this post is for you.

Reach is really simple.
It’s growing your customer base.
Today, with social media, it’s very affordable.
Let’s say you have 500 Instagram followers, and you get one customer every time you reach another 2,000 followers. 1,000 followers means 2 photo sessions.

Another thing you need to know is the simple formula for making money, and I’m giving it to you for free!

Ready?
C+V+ O=$

Create something of value to others, and offer it to them in return for money.
Do that over and over and over until you’re dead.

Getting more followers is the “O”.
The more people you offer your services to, the more will purchase.

Now, imagine if you have 50,000 Instagram followers. Where would your business be?

I’ll tell you another secret. You don’t have to be an amazing photographer to have 50,000 followers. You have to get off your ass and learn how to get 50,000 followers. Then, you have to be patient.

One of my favorite quotes is, “Most people over-estimate what they can accomplish in a year and under-estimate what they can do in 5 years.” -Anthony Robbins

So start now because another one of my favorite quotes is, “The best time to plant a tree was 10 years ago. The second best time is now.” – Confucius

Thank you for taking the time to read. I appreciate it! Visit my IG to see more of my work. I also sell art on Artfinder.

Ikon Republik- I am a photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah.I am the founder of VEGA Magazine.  I like to write. I teach workshops. Please message me for a price list. Ikonrepublik@yahoo.com. Please give me about 3 days to respond.🙂(I’m currently working on getting better at checking email.)

Please share this post. When you help others you’re also helping yourself!

Model: Harper Caldwell

Leave a Reply

