Michael and Melinda

We walked along the edge of a river. It was near twilight. Fog rolled off across the water, and I felt nervous. It was her. She made me uncomfortable, really fucking uncomfortable.  How do you tell the girl you are supposed to marry she scares you to death?

Every time I thought I knew her, something would happen that made me wonder.

How do you love someone who you don’t trust? You don’t. Why was I still with her? She might kill me if I leave. That’s why.
She stopped and grabbed my hand. She seemed so strong for a petite woman. She pulled my body up against hers and put her arms around me.
“Darling. What’s wrong.”
“ Nothing.” She made me feel like such a fucking loser. I should tell her..Shit! No fucking way I thought.
“No. Something is wrong. You have to tell me now.” She had that stern grin on her face.
I stared to feel ashamed, but then, all the fear I felt just crashed into my body like a boulder falling over a cliff. I felt the crushing weight of everything in my life, and all at once, I knew there was no way out.

I had to tell her. “You scare the shit out of me! I’m afraid you will kill me. I just want out.”
She looked down. Tears fell from her eyes, and she fell to her knees. “ I knew it. I could feel it. I’ve been so afraid I would lose you. I wanted to tell you, but… Oh God! I want to die!” She was sobbing uncontrollably.
“What? What the fuck are you talking about?” I asked. If I knew a word for the emotion that is anger, confusion, and sadness all at once, I would use it here, but I don’t know if it exists.
“Ok. I know why you’re afraid. You just don’t understand. You just don’t know.”
“I don’t know what? Tell me!”
She looked up at me. Her face was red and her makeup ran in places that it wasn’t supposed to be. Still, something was strangly beautiful about her again.
“I wasn’t born here.”
“I know that. You were born in China.”
“No, no! I told you all those lies so I could hide my secret from you. I wasn’t born in China. I was born on a spaceship while orbiting Jupiter.”
“What? Oh fuck! You’re an alien?”
“No. My mother and father were both human. My dad is from New York, and my mother is from Arlington, Virginia. It was top-secret mission in the early 80’s. They were sent to look for other life forms.. you know.. aliens. NASA sent them out, but someone in the control center in Cape Canaveral was upset with my father. He changed an algorithm, and after the launch, the ship kept going. My mother and father were alone for years. I won’t even go into how they survived, but somewhere along the way they became lonely, they had a need for touch, sex was something they missed, and I was born a few years into the mission. After I was born, my mother decided I should grow up on earth, so she found a way to turn the ship around and correct our projected course. She died while doing it. 5 years later our ship landed just off the coast of New Zealand. My father and I made a home there.  Right away, I noticed I was stronger than anyone else. I could break trees with my fist. I could jump for miles. My father guessed it was because I was born while orbiting Jupiter. Everyone hated me, and everyone kept their distance. When I was old enough to go to college, I moved to the U.S., and I hid it from everyone. It’s messes up everything. God, I wish I was just a normal girl! I hate this super strength. I know I scare you. I know you feel weird dating someone who can beat the shit out of you without even trying. I just am so afraid I will lose you!” Again, she sobbed.
“ God! I feel like such a dick. I am so sorry. Okay, I admit you scare me. I was nervous, and I sometimes wondered if you would kill me. But now,  I know, and knowing…. that’s comforting. Darling. I love you. Promise me one thing.”
“Yes?”
“No more secrets. Be open with me. Trust me. I won’t hurt you. Actually, you can kick my ass. I don’t think it’s possible to hurt you.” I smiled at her.
“I love you too. She smiled and stood up and pulled me close really fast.”
“Ouch!”
“Oh! Sorry, darling. I’ll be more gentle from now on.”
“Yes please, but once in a while you can be rough with me… like in bed.”
She laughed. “Okay. Okay.”

In the back of my mind, I was thinking about that asshole who gave me a hard time in 5th grade. I’m gonna find that guy, and my wife is going to kick his ass!

The next day we called Ikon Republik and set up a photo shoot. We didn’t shoot down by the river, but we did get lunch after.

Ikon Republik- I am a photographer based in Salt Lake City Utah. I also like to write.  I am currently not accepting new models/ Portrait sessions or any paid work. Please check back later if you are interested in working with me. Thank you visiting though…

Note: The story above is not real, but Melinda and Michael are real. I just have to point out that they have an amazing chemistry. Micheal is cool and Melinda.. well….she is the kind of girl that you could fall in love with too easily. Oh, I should mention that I don’t know where they were born, and I’m pretty sure Melinda can’t break trees with her fist. But hey, you never know. Everyone has a few secrets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

